Board of Directors
The Directors’ primary objective is to increase Shareholder value within an appropriate framework of governance and management.

There are five directors on the Southern Board. Southern’s constitution provides for a maximum of six Directors. The present Directors anticipate that over time the number of Directors and composition of the Board will be altered as appropriate to maintain the best possible Board for the nature of the activities of Southern.

Jacqui Walshe
Managing Director
Jacqui was appointed to the role of Managing Director in March 2013. Jacqui has been the Chief Executive of the Group since 2008, following 12 years as Managing Director of the Walshe Group which became a part of the Southern Travel Holdings group in 2007. Jacqui is responsible for overseeing the operations of the Group, for setting strategy and growing the business. Jacqui obtained a Degree in Business Studies at Massey University, and an MBA from Auckland University in New Zealand, and is also a director of Liontamer Investment Management Pty Limited. She is a member of the CEO Institute, the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Dell Women’s Entrepreneur Network (DWEN).

Jacqui has worked within the Walshe Group for over 25 years and is based in the Sydney office of the Group.

John King OAM
John King, who is based in Sydney, has a 40 year background in highly successful and widely recognised international tourism marketing and management, including operating his own international tourism consulting company for 19 years. He has held a number of senior positions with international tourism organisations. John was presented with the 2010 Pacific Asia Travel Association Award of Merit and is an Honorary Fellow of Southern Cross University in recognition of his contribution to tourism.

He is currently Trustee of the Travel Compensation Fund (Australia) and a member of the Boards of Management of Uluru Kata Tjuta National Park and Lord Howe Island. He is also a member of the Australian Advisory Board of the Beijing based China Ready and Accredited.

Between 2007 to 2014 John held the position of Independent Chairman of the Australian Tourism Export Council, the primary industry body for the Australian inbound tourism industry. He was appointed Deputy Chairman of the Visitor Economy Taskforce to develop a joint industry/government plan in 2012 to double revenue from tourism for the New South Wales Government. John was also recognised for his services to Australian tourism with an Order of Australia medal in the 2011 Australia Day honours list.

Rodney Walshe ONZM
Deputy Chairman
Rodney Walshe has been actively involved in tourism since 1970 during which time he has made a significant contribution to the New Zealand industry as well as establishing the Walshe Group, which today forms the outbound division of Southern Travel Holdings Limited.

Rodney is a past president and life member of the Tourism Industry Federation (now TIANZ), past president of TAANZ, life member of the NZ Institute of Travel, and former Chairman of the NZ Tourism Council and Tourism Auckland. He is an ex-officio trustee of the New Zealand Antarctic Heritage Trust and also the Honorary Consul General of Ireland in New Zealand, an appointment he has held since 1976. Rodney is also Chairman of chocolatier, Bennetts of Mangawhai Limited, and a director of New Zealand Experience Limited and Rainbow’s End Theme Park Limited.

In 2007 he received the Sir Jack Newman Tourism Award, the highest award granted to an individual within the New Zealand tourism industry. In the year 2000 Honours list, Rodney was appointed an Honorary Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM) for his outstanding contribution to New Zealand Tourism and the community. In 2013 Rodney received the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for his services to Ireland and the Irish Community abroad. This is Ireland’s highest honour.

Kiyomi Gunji
Kiyomi Gunji was one of the original founders of Silver Fern Holidays Limited in 1978, the predecessor to the Southern Travel Holdings inbound operating division. Kiyomi held the position of managing director of the Group until March 2008 and has over thirty-six years of experience in the tourism industry. Kiyomi is the author of the first New Zealand travel guide book in Japanese published in 1975, and is a former board member of the Inbound Tour Operators Council of New Zealand Incorporated (ITOC) and previous president of the Japanese Society of Auckland Incorporated. In 2008, he received the Horwath Sir Jack Newman Award at the New Zealand Tourism industry awards.

David Osborne
David Osborne has had many years financial services experience in London, Sydney and New Zealand. David was most recently with Westpac for 18 years in a variety of senior roles, latterly Head of Finance – Projects. David left Westpac in 2012 to concentrate on being a professional company director and is a former member of the Executive Board of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants (NZICA), is a director of Trustee Covenant Services and has been a Member of Institute of Directors since 2011. He brings expertise in governance, financial management, risk management and project execution.